Quick launch summary
Now when you’re sharing your screen, Chrome will automatically hide the content of web pop-up notifications. This includes notifications from Google Chat, email notifications, and other third party websites.
When you’re done sharing your screen, all muted notifications will be automatically displayed. Note that notifications are already muted when sharing a tab in Google Meet.
You’ll see where the notification is from, but the content of pop-up notifications will be hidden. When you’re done presenting, all muted notifications will be displayed.
There has been a dramatic shift in how many of us work – now more than ever, we’re relying on the use of Google Meet and other screen sharing solutions. We hope this feature will reduce distractions and prevent sensitive or personal information from accidentally being displayed while sharing your screen.
Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
End Users: When sharing your screen, notification content will automatically be hidden. You can select “Show All” to display content for the current and future notifications.
Full rollout (1–3 days for feature visibility) starting on January 25, 2021
Available to Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, and Enterprise Plus, as well as G Suite Basic, Business, Education, Enterprise for Education, and Nonprofits customers. Available to users with personal Google Accounts.